Stairs & Bridges

It all started with a fascination for bridges, because they form the connection between two places and are constantly under tension. You can overcome the greatest gap with an elegant ease. In the animations, the connecting bridges are represented by moving stair elements.

The rooms and the architecture were designed in the style of brutalism. This architectural direction appears simple and imposing at the same time; With reduced forms, powerful structures can be created.

The design of the scenes should encourage the viewer to want to put themselves in these situations. Crossing the bridges should be safe at the same time, but also create a little thrill. The movements of the animated elements should appear organic and light at the same time. The free-floating elements also underline the surrealism of the concept.

To increase the visual dramaturgy, I used the contrast between the black staircase elements and benches and the bare and light concrete of the architecture. Some of the design elements were deliberately placed in order to give the viewer a better spatial feeling. The lighting played an important role, especially in the last shot.

It was very important to me to convey a mystical feeling with the pictures. The choice of music was crucial for this: The light and indefinable sounds create the perfect acoustic atmosphere to accompany the animations.

Music: Emmit Fenn

Year: 2020

Design process

The wireframe models of the individual scenes can be seen in the following images. These were taken directly from the 3D program.

Stairs & Bridges

Alles fing mit einer Faszination für Brücken an, denn sie bilden die Verbindung zwischen zwei Orten und stehen konstant unter Spannung. Sie überwinden die grösste Kluft mit einer eleganten Leichtigkeit. In den Animationen werden die verbindenden Brücken durch bewegende Treppenelemente repräsentiert.

Die Räume und die Architektur wurden im Stil des Brutalismus gestaltet. Diese Architekturrichtung wirkt zugleich schlicht und imposant; mit reduzierten Formen lassen sich somit mächtige Bauwerke erstellen.

Die Gestaltung der Szenen soll die Betrachter dazu anregen, sich in diese Situationen versetzen zu wollen. Das Überqueren der Brücken soll zugleich sicher sein, aber auch etwas Nervenkitzel erzeugen. Die Bewegungen der animierten Elemente sollten zugleich organisch und leicht wirken. Die freischwebenden Elemente untermalen zusätzlich den Surrealismus des Konzepts.

Um die visuelle Dramaturgie zu steigern, nutzte ich den Kontrast der schwarzen Treppenelemente sowie Sitzbänke zum kahlen und hellen Beton der Architektur. Einige der Designelemente wurden bewusst so platziert, um dem Betrachter ein besseres räumliches Gefühl zu vermitteln. Die Lichtsetzung spielte besonders bei der letzten Aufnahme eine wichtige Rolle.

 

Es war mir ein grosses Anliegen, mit den Bildern ein mystisches Gefühl zu transportieren. Hierfür war die Auswahl der Musik äusserst ausschlaggebend: Die leichten und undefinierbaren Klänge erzeugen die perfekte akustische Atmosphäre, um die Animationen zu begleiten.

Musik: Emmit Fenn

Jahr: 2020

Der Aufbau

In den folgenden Bildern sind die Drahtgittermodelle der einzelnen Szenen zu sehen. Diese wurden direkt dem 3D-Programm entnommen.