Spacebar-3D-Illustration-memphis-eis-gol

Summer MMXX

This 3D illustration was inspired by the design language of the Memphis Group. It was printed as a postcard and sent to customers and friends. To start the summer, I decided on ice cream as the main subject. Due to the golden material, it reaches a level of abstraction that would not be so easy to reproduce in the real world.

To create a clear contrast between the main object and the other objects in the scene, I used muted colors and simple geometric shapes. This made it possible to create a clear visual difference to the ice cream. The materials are therefore kept matt to make the gold stand out more.

Summer card for 2020.

 

Copyright: Spacebar

Year: 2020

navigation

Rotate   >  left mouse button + drag

Pan        >  right mouse button + drag

Zoom     >  Mouse Wheel

Design process

The illustration was created entirely in digital 3D. At the beginning I set up various 3D objects in order to try out different color and shape combinations. The proportions of the individual 3D objects were also important for the composition. The final size was then determined based on their respective position and the final viewing angle.


At first I wasn't sure which camera angle would be best. In the end, however, I decided on a classic frontal perspective in order to focus primarily on the objects and less on the room itself.

The light should initially play a more important part in the design. By casting clear and sharp shadows, it would add contrast throughout the image. However, since I opted for a deeper focus of the camera in the end, the shapes of the cast shadows would not have been clearly visible.

patterns

preliminary concepts

Sommer MMXX

Durch die Designsprache der Memphis-Gruppe inspiriert, entstand diese 3D-Illustration. Sie wurde als Postkarte gedruckt und an Kunden sowie Bekannte versandt. Um den Sommer einzuleiten, habe ich mich für eine Glace als Hauptsujet entschieden. Durch das goldene Material erreicht es einen Abstraktionsgrad, der in der realen Welt nicht so einfach zu reproduzieren wäre.

Um einen klaren Kontrast zwischen dem Hauptobjekt und den anderen Objekten in der Szene zu erzeugen, setzte ich auf gedämpfte Farben und einfache geometrische Formen. Somit war es möglich, einen klaren visuellen Unterschied zum Eis zu erzeugen. Die Materialien sind deshalb auch matter gehalten, um das Gold stärker abzuheben.

Bildrechte: Spacebar

Jahr: 2020

Navigation

Rotieren         >   linke Maustaste + ziehen

Verschieben  >   rechte Maustaste + ziehen

Zoomen         >   Mausrad

Designprozess

Die Illustration entstand komplett in digitalem 3D. Zu Beginn habe ich diverse 3D-Objekte aufgebaut, um verschiedene Farb- und Formkombinationen auszuprobieren. Für die Komposition waren ebenfalls die Proportionen der einzelnen 3D-Objekte wichtig. Die definitive Grösse wurde dann anhand ihrer jeweiligen Position und des finalen Blickwinkels bestimmt.


Anfangs war ich mir noch unsicher, welcher Kamerawinkel sich am besten eignen würde. Am Ende habe ich mich aber für einen klassischen frontalen Blickwinkel entschieden, um den Fokus primär auf die Objekte zu setzen und weniger auf den Raum selbst.

Das Licht sollte zunächst einen wichtigeren Part in der Gestaltung spielen. Durch das Werfen von klaren und scharfen Schatten würde es den Kontrast im ganzen Bild fördern. Da ich mich am Ende jedoch für einen tieferen Blickpunkt der Kamera entschieden habe, wären die Formen der Schlagschatten nicht klar genug zu erkennen gewesen.

Muster

Vorkonzepte

Spacebar Rapelli

Flüelistrasse 2

8400 Winterthur

Switzerland

MO  -  FR

9:30 - 18:00