Banner animations

The agency FELDERVOGEL created a new website for the company Büro für Bauökonomie. As an additional visual element, animations were created that are played in the upper part of the website.

The concept of the animations consisted in projecting the values, employees and professional positions in the company in text form onto the facades of their construction projects. Photographs of the buildings on which the text banners were placed served as the basis. Six animations were created, each with its own characteristics. The movements of the animated texts were presented differently in order to additionally emphasize the specific architecture of the individual buildings.

Client: Büro für Bauökonomie

Concept & design: FELDERVOGEL

Animations: Spacebar

Year: 2020

Behind the scenes

The most complex challenge was to transfer the perspectives of the individual buildings from the photographs into the virtual space of the 3D program. Thanks to the tool fSpy, this was possible with a high degree of accuracy and consistency. In this way, a facade could be recreated in digital 3D for the respective photograph, onto which the texts could be projected.


A simpler option would have been to trace the buildings on the photographs in an image processing program and implement them as 2D animation. However, the advantage of implementing a 3D animation is, on the one hand, that the proportions of the objects in relation to the depth in space are displayed correctly; on the other hand, a camera movement can be implemented with little effort. As a result, the camera position and the image section could also be adjusted later. This enabled us to remain flexible long into the project phase without having to agree on one point of view at the beginning.

The combination of two-dimensional typography and three-dimensional perspective resulted in striking and spatial 2D animations.

The geometric structure from the 3D program can be seen in the screenshots below. The text elements were projected and subsequently animated on the individual facade elements, shown as surfaces in the picture.

Web-Banner Animationen

Die Agentur FELDERVOGEL kreierte für das Unternehmen Büro für Bauökonomie einen neuen Webauftritt. Als zusätzliches visuelles Element wurden Animationen erstellt, die im oberen Teil der Webseite abgespielt werden.

Das Konzept der Animationen bestand darin, die Werte, Mitarbeiter und beruflichen Positionen im Unternehmen in Textform auf die Fassaden ihrer Bauprojekte zu projizieren. Als Grundlage dienten Fotografien der Gebäude, auf denen die Textbanner platziert wurden. Es entstanden sechs Animationen, wobei jede individuelle Merkmale aufweist. Die Bewegungen der animierten Texte wurden unterschiedlich präsentiert, um so die spezifische Architektur der einzelnen Bauten zusätzlich hervorzuheben.

Auftraggeberin: Büro für Bauökonomie

Konzept & Design: FELDERVOGEL

Animationen: Spacebar

Jahr: 2020

Hinter den Kulissen

Die komplexeste Herausforderung bestand darin, die Perspektiven der einzelnen Gebäude aus den Fotografien in den virtuellen Raum des 3D-Programms zu transferieren. Dank des Werkzeugs fSpy war dies mit einer hohen Genauigkeit und Übereinstimmung möglich. So konnte zur jeweiligen Fotografie eine Fassade im digitalen 3D nachgebaut werden, auf die die Texte projiziert werden konnten.


Eine einfachere Möglichkeit hätte darin bestanden, die Gebäude auf den Fotografien in einem Bildbearbeitungsprogramm nachzuzeichnen und diese als 2D-Animation umzusetzen. Der Vorteil von einer Umsetzung als 3D-Animation jedoch ist zum einen, dass die Grössenverhältnisse der Objekte in Bezug auf die Tiefe im Raum korrekt dargestellt werden; zum anderen ist eine Kamerabewegung mit geringem Aufwand umsetzbar. Dadurch konnten auch die Kameraposition und der Bildausschnitt nachträglich angepasst werden. Dies ermöglichte uns, lange in die Projektphase hinein flexibel zu bleiben, ohne uns schon zu Beginn auf einen Blickpunkt einigen zu müssen.

Durch die Kombination aus der zweidimensionalen Typografie und der dreidimensionalen Perspektive entstanden plakative sowie räumliche 2D-Animationen.

In diesem Screenshot aus dem 3D-Programm ist der geometrische Aufbau zu erkennen. Auf den einzelnen Fassadenelementen, im Bild als Flächen dargestellt, wurden die Textelemente projiziert und nachträglich animiert.